Conservatives Support the Nomination of Lawrence VanDyke and Reject the Baseless Smears of the American Bar Association

November 4, 2019
Washington, DC

Conservatives are proud to support the nomination of Lawrence VanDyke to the 9th Circuit Court of Appeals, and once again reject the baseless smears of the American Bar Association.

That VanDyke is an eminently qualified jurist is not in doubt. He graduated magna cum laude from Harvard Law School and served as editor of the Harvard Law Review. Subsequently, he clerked for Judge Janice Rogers Brown on the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit before launching his appellate career, including serving as both the solicitor general of Montana and Nevada. VanDyke has argued over 20 appeals in the federal circuit courts, and has been the counsel of record on 28 briefs before the U.S. Supreme Court.

This has not stopped the ABA, however, from rating him as “not qualified” for reasons of “professional incompetence” and “judicial temperament.” Accusations that, as Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Sen. Mike Lee (R-Utah), and Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) pointed out in VanDyke’s hearing before the Senate Judiciary Committee, were not annotated and largely based on anonymous sources.

This is especially troubling considering that the ABA speculated VanDyke might not be fair to members of the LGBTQ community, a claim that VanDyke renounced, citing his belief that all people are worthy of dignity and respect.

This so-called “objective” rating was determined by an evaluation conducted by a Montana trial attorney named Marcia Davenport who, in 2014, donated to VanDyke’s political opponent in a campaign for the Montana Supreme Court.

In fact, a former Nevada State Bar President quit the ABA over its treatment of VanDyke, citing their troubling reliance on anonymous information to assess judicial nominees.

These overt smears of Lawrence VanDyke and the continued mistreatment of conservative-leaning judicial nominees by the ABA is reprehensible. The ABA should no longer have a privileged place at the table in assessing judicial nominations.

Lawrence VanDyke is a brilliant and accomplished jurist and deserves swift confirmation.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
Lisa B. Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
American Legislative Exchange Council
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Adam Brandon
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
David Bozell
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Director of OMB, 1985-1988
Catherine Glenn Foster
President & CEO
Americans United for Life
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Jim Backlin
Vice President of Legislative Affairs
Christian Coalition of America
Lewis K. Uhler
Founder and President
National Tax Limitation Committee
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Karen England
Executive Director
Nevada Family Alliance
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
Jay Mount
MDS Communications
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Dr. Jerome Corsi, Ph.D
Founder and CEO
Ralph Benko
The Capitalist League
Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC
Susan Carleson
Carleson Center for Welfare Reform
Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Kathleen A. Patten
President & CEO
American Target Advertising
Len Munsil
Arizona Christian University
The Honorable Briscoe Cain
State Representative, Dist. 128
Texas Legislature
Dr. John C. Eastman
Senior Fellow, The Claremont Institute
Salvatori Professor, Chapman University Fowler School of Law
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
John Joseph Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Law Offices of Jack Park
Elise Neff
Executive Assistant
Students for Life of America
Robert Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Gary Marx
Senior Advisor
Judicial Crisis Network
Jeremy Cerone
EliteSafe Inc.
Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
Seton Motley
Less Government
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Raymond J. LaJeunesse, Jr.
Vice President & Legal Director
National Right to Work Legal Defense Foundation
Stephen T. Whelan
The Witherspoon Institute, Princeton, NJ
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Melvin Adams
Past President
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House
Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles
The Honorable Tim Echols
Public Service Commissioner
GA Public Service Commission
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Joseph A. Morris
Partner, Morris & De La Rosa
Assistant U.S. Attorney General, Reagan Administration
Rebecca Hagelin
The Washington Times
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Randy M. Long
Long Business Advisors, LLC
The Honorable Diana Denman
Presidential Appointee
President Ronald Reagan
Reverend Frank Pavone
National Director
Priests for Life
Michael Horowitz
21st Century Initiatives
Charlie Gerow
Vice Chairman
American Conservative Union
John F. Tate
America’s Liberty PAC
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Penna Dexter
Pointof View Radio
Chad Connelly
Faith Wins
Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
American Family Association
Steve Berger
Grace Chapel
The Honorable Penny Pullen
Life Advocacy Resource Project
Melissa Ortiz
Founder & Principal
Able Americans
Curt Levey
Committee for Justice

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.