The Senate Should Prioritize Confirming New Leadership for the EEOC

April 18, 2018
Washington, DC

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission is a bipartisan commission that is supposed to be led by five presidentially-appointed commissioners. Today, it should be made up of three Republicans and two Democratic commissioners.

Unfortunately, there are currently two vacancies at the EEOC, which means that Democrats have a 2-to-1 majority on the Commission and are able to hold up the EEOC agenda and operations.

The President has appointed two stellar Republican nominees to fill these vacancies: Janet Dhillon, the chairman-designate, has been a top corporate lawyer and executive, breaking numerous glass ceilings through her career and is a solid conservative. The other nominee, Daniel Gade, is a retired Army Ranger who lost his leg in combat in Iraq. He holds a doctorate in public policy and administration and has taught at West Point.

The Senate should move swiftly to allocate floor time so that these nominees can be considered alone, without consideration of the reappointment of the current Democrat Commissioner, Chai Feldblum, so that these Republican nominees can be confirmed during this session.

Absent these confirmations, the EEOC is unable to restore balance to the critical discrimination and diversity issues affecting business’ hiring practices under its jurisdiction. The EEOC today often works against the rest of the Administration in its efforts to restore government to its proper role.

This should not continue. Confirming these nominations would bring much needed reform to this important agency, and should be a priority for the Senate.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Former Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee
Diana Banister
President and Partner
Shirley & Banister Public Affairs
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Thomas E. McClusky
March for Life Action
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq. Adam Brandon
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
Heather R. Higgins
Chief Executive Officer
Independent Women’s Voice
Carrie Lukas
Independent Women’s Forum
Amy Kremer
Women for Trump
Christopher Malagisi
Editor in Chief
Conservative Book Club
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Joe R. Calvert
Rabon Calvert Interest
Jay Mount
MDS Communications
Penny Young Nance
CEO & President
Concerned Women for America Legislative Action Committee
Preston Hawkins
Law Office of H. Preston Hawkins
Charles Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
U.S. House of Representatives
Star Parker
Center for Urban Renewal and Education
Martha Boneta
Derek McCoy
Executive Vice President
Center for Urban Renewal and Education
Richard A. Viguerie
Richard D. Hayes
Law Partner
Hayes, Berry White & Vanzant, LLP
Mat Staver
Founder and Chairman
Liberty Counsel
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Washington Bureau Chief
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies (NFRA)
Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives
Evelio Silvera
Campaign for the American Future
Mitchell Morgan
Chief Financial Officer
Martin Imaging
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Mrs. Roy Moore (Kayla)
Foundation for Moral Law
The Honorable Penny Pullen
Retired State Legislator
Illinois General Assembly
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
The Honorable Michael R. Long
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party
Kelly Shackelford
First Liberty Institute
Dr. Everett Piper
Oklahoma Wesleyan University
Robert K Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
The Honorable Terrence Scanlon
Retired Chairman and President
Capital Research Center
Peter J. Thomas
The Consevative Caucus
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Tim LeFever
Capitol Resource Institute
Tim Wildmon
American Family Association
The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California
Dr. Richard K. Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
The Honorable Belden Bell
CoChair Legacy Society
The Heritage Foundation
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Donna Hearne
The Constitutional Coalition
Col. Francis X. De Luca USMCR(Ret)
President Emeritus
Civitas Institute
Curt Levey
Committee for Justice
Caroline Lewis
Percipio Communications
Barry Meguiar
Revival Outside the Walls
Dr. Ted Baehr
Chairman and CEO
Christian Film and Television Commission™ / Movieguide®
Rebecca Hagelin
Council for National Policy
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Alan P Dye, Esq.
Webster, Chamberlain & Bean
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Ralph A Rebandt, II
Lead Pastor/Police Chaplain
Oakland Hills Community Church/Michigan Police Chiefs Association
Ralph Benko
Senior Advisor, Economics
American Principles Project

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.