Not a Good Deal, Mr. President

March 16, 2020
Washington, DC

Conservatives oppose the provisions of the Pelosi-Mnuchin coronavirus bailout package that are not specifically related to addressing the spread and treatment of COVID-19.

The COVID-19 pandemic is a national public health crisis, and congressional action is warranted. However, the proper response is one that focuses on getting testing widely available, cutting red tape to get vaccines to market faster, and supporting the Americans seeking to implement containment measures, and balance the needs of businesses, employees, and taxpayers who bear the brunt of government mandates.

The bill does some of these things. But it also takes advantage of the adage “never let a crisis go to waste” with provisions that make long-term expansions beyond what is needed to directly address containment of the virus.

Perhaps most concerning, however, is the fact that the text of this bill was released less than an hour before members of the House were required to vote. No one had time to read the legislation, much less offer any amendments. There was not even a cost estimate available for the legislation.

A pandemic of this nature requires an efficient, effective, and targeted response. But it is not an excuse to suspend the deliberative elements of our representative government. Elected Members of Congress deserve, at a minimum, time to read legislation costing billions of dollars before they vote.

We urge the Republican Senate, which has largely sat on the sidelines of these negotiations, to take a productive role and offer modifications to the House bill which ensure it is focused on addressing the COVID-19 crisis, including that the bill’s provisions be sunset when the national emergency declaration is withdrawn.

It is imperative that this and any future legislation related to the COVID-19 pandemic be singularly targeted at helping American individuals and families receive access to testing, care, and help during containment, and do not instead use the opportunity to further a big government agenda.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Adam Brandon
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
David Bozell
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Christopher Malagisi
Executive Director of Outreach
Hillsdale College
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting, Inc.
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
Jessica Anderson
Vice President
Heritage Action for America
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
Dr. John C. Eastman
Salvatori Professor, Chapman University Fowler School of Law
Senior Fellow, The Claremont Institute
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Joseph A. Morris
Attorney and Partner, Morris & De La Rosa
Former Assistant Attorney General, Reagan Administration
Twila Brase, RN, PHN
President and Co-founder
Citizens Council for Health Freedom
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1989
Barry Meguiar
Ignite America
Grace-Marie Turner
Galen Institute
Eunie Smith
Eagle Forum
Sheryl Kaufman
Board Member
Americans for Limited Government
Amy Kremer
Women for America First
Debbie Georgatos
Host, America Can We Talk?
CWT Publications, LLC
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
John F. Tate
America’s Liberty PAC
Robert D. Thompson
Former Weyrich Lunch Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch (1999-2016)
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Seton Motley
Less Government
Kielle Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Tom Giovanetti
Institute for Policy Innovation
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Dean Nelson
Frederick Douglass Foundation
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
American Family Association
Eric Georgatos
Executive Producer
America Can We Talk?
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Floyd Brown
Western Journal
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Richard Norman
Founder and President
The Richard Norman Company
Susan A. Carleson
Carleson Center for Welfare Reform
Khadine Ritter
Eagle Forum of Ohio
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Rob Chambers
Vice President
AFA Action
The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House
Tom McCabe
McCabe Partners, LLC
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Dr. Allen Unruh
National Abstinence Clearinghouse
James Martin
60 Plus Association
Saul Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Melvin Adams
Noah Webster Educational Foundation
Doug Badger
Senior Fellow
Galen Institute
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Roxanne Roberts Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Donna Hearne
Constitutional Coalition
Lisa Calvert
Christian and Faith Speaker
Mark Fitzgibbons
President of Corporate Affairs
American Target Adveritising
Randy M. Long
Long Business Advisors, LLC
Bob Carlstrom
AMAC Action
The Honorable Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus, Inc.
Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
The Honorable Penny Pullen
Former Illinois State Representative
Illinois General Assembly
Caroline Wetherington
Women for Trump Florida
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Craig Shirley
Reagan Biographer
Morton Blackwell
Founder and President
Leadership Institute

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.