Conservative Action Project

March 16, 2021
Washington, DC

Conservatives oppose the nomination of Dr. Rachel Levine to be Assistant Secretary of Health at the Department of Health and Human Services.

Dr. Levine currently serves as Pennsylvania’s Secretary of Health, and boasts a tenure characterized by incompetent handling of the state’s response to COVID-19. In a move similar to Gov. Andrew Cuomo in New York, Levine issued an order forcing COVID-19 patients into nursing homes – but only after Dr. Levine’s mother was moved out of those nursing homes, first.

As a result, six of the 10 nursing homes with the most COVID-19 deaths in the nation occurred in Pennsylvania. The nursing home industry has sued the state over $150 million in federal funds they claim were withheld from them and diverted elsewhere. Pennsylvania also ranks as one of the worst states for vaccine distribution, a program also overseen by Levine.

Levine made further dubious medical determinations as part of Pennsylvania’s COVID response, designating abortion facilities as providing “essential services,” and recommending that all school sports be banned statewide.

Equally troubling, however, are Levine’s views on the use of puberty blockers and sex reassignment surgeries in children – something Dr. Levine apparently supports. When asked by Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) whether minors are capable of making a decision as life altering as changing one’s sex, even against parental wishes, Dr. Levine did not answer the question, stating only that if confirmed, a briefing would be provided to the senator on the “standards of care” in transgender medicine.

Levine is also on the record seeking to dismantle the Office of Conscience and Religious Freedom Division at Health and Human Services, stating on a Center for American Progress conference call that the office should “either disbanded or certainly redirected.”

Dr. Levine’s extremely poor track record as Secretary of Health in Pennsylvania, vague positions on dramatic and life-changing procedures in children, and a demonstrated hostility to religious liberty make this nominee unqualified to set a national agenda for public health.

We urge the Senate to reject the nomination of Dr. Rachel Levine.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President, Republic Book Publishers
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable Russ Vought
Office of Management and Budget (2020-2021)
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
Star Parker
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
Marty Dannenfelser
Director of Governmental Relations
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Wesley Denton
Chief Operating Officer
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Lady Brigitte Gabriel
Founder & Chairman
ACT For America
Alan Sears
Alliance Defending Freedom
Joseph A. Morris
Partner, Morris & De La Rosa
Assistant U.S. Attorney General (Reagan / Meese)
Nancy Schulze
Founder, President
RCW Speakers
William W. Pascoe III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Gary Marx
Madison Strategies LLC
Kielle C. Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Marcia G. Taylor
Bennett Family of Companies
Michael Farris
President & CEO
Alliance Defending Freedom
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
Dr. Jerry A. Johnson
President (2013-2019)
National Religious Broadcasters
Mat Staver
Liberty Counsel Action
The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli
Former Acting Deputy Secretary, DHS
Former Virginia AG
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Reagan, 1985-1988
The Honorable Scott Walker
Young America’s Foundation
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Justin Danhof
General Counsel
National Center for Public Policy Research
Chad Connelly
Faith Wins
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Karen England
Executive Director
Capitol Resource Institute
Phil Kerpen
American Commitment
Tim Throckmorton
Lifepointe Ministries
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Debbie Georgatos
Host, America, Can We Talk?
CWT Publications, LLC
Richard Manning
Americans for Limited Government
Lee Beaman
Beaman Ventures
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Amy Kremer
Women for America First
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Eric Georgatos
Executive Producer
America Can We Talk?
Richard D. Hayes
Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, LLP
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State House
Jack Park
Conservative Donor and Activist
Law Offices of Jack Park
Melvin Adams
Noah Webster Educational Foundation
Michael Horowitz
21st Century Initiatives
CEO and Former OMB General Counsel, Reagan Administration
Randy M. Long
Long Business Advisors, LLC
Seton Motley
Less Government
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Tom DeWeese
American Policy Center
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Richard Rounsavelle
Amapola Hansberger
Founder and President
Legal Immigrants for America
Sheryl Kaufman
Board Member
Americans for Limited Government
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Khadine Ritter
Eagle Forum of Ohio
Don Woodsmall
Arromid, LLC
Eleanor Nicholas B. Case
Eunie Smith
President Emeritus
Eagle Forum
Peggy Dau
Rick Scarborough
Recover America Now
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
American Family Association
Tim Wildmon
American Family Association
Rob Chambers
Vice President
AFA Action
Dr. Allen Unruh
National Abstinence Clearinghouse
Mark Bloom
Business Owner
Ole Podner LLC & Tekgeologik LLC
Robert Keith Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
The Honorable Diana Denman
President/ Chairman
The Reagan Legacy Forum
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
Ruth Rebecca Matulavich
Senior Financial Coordinator
Liberty HealthShare
Melissa Kaye Ortiz
Blogger/Administrator at
Founder & Principal, Able Americans
Wade Kirby
Director of Development
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.