Conservative Action Project

May 8, 2024
Washington, D.C.

Conservatives urge the House majority to maximize their leverage in the Fiscal Year 2025 appropriations process, which is already underway.

The fiscal year ends on September 30, 2024. Rather than setting up the possibility of a shutdown at the end of the year, the House should pre-emptively pass a short-term Continuing Resolution to March of 2025. This not only avoids the legislative pile up before November, it removes the possibility of a bloated omnibus spending bill being jammed through the lame duck session. Moreover, it gives the new administration a chance to impose its priorities on a must-pass spending bill early in 2025.

Critically, a CR of this nature must not contain the appropriations side deals like the ones negotiated by former Speaker Kevin McCarthy and Senate Appropriations Chair Patty Murray. Rather, the CR must be tied to the 2025 levels enacted as part of the Fiscal Responsibility Act.

There are very few major legislative items left on Congress’s calendar this year, but appropriations bills are one of them. We implore the House not to waste the opportunity to manage the process in a strategic manner which limits the possibility of a lame duck omnibus, adheres to statutory limits without side deals, and allows a new appropriations process to begin in an orderly manner in 2025.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
The Honorable Brooke Rollins
President and CEO
America First Policy Institute (AFPI)
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Kevin Roberts, Ph.D.
The Heritage Foundation
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
Rebecca Weber
Association of Mature American Citizens (AMAC)
Chad Connelly
Founder and President
Faith Wins
Bob Carlstrom
AMAC Action
Thomas E. McClusky
Greenlight Strategies, LLC
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Assistant to the President for Domestic Affairs
President Ronald Reagan
William L. Walton
The Bill Walton Show
Resolute Protector Foundation
L. Brent Bozell III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Myron Ebell
American Lands Council
Thomas H. Jones
American Accountability Foundation
Star Parker
Founder and President
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
Marty Dannenfelser
Vice President for Government Relations and Coalitions
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Senior Legal Fellow
Conservative Partnership Institute
Lori Roman
ACRU Action Fund
Scott T. Parkinson
Vice President for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
Terry Schilling
American Principles Project
Alfred S. Regnery
Republic Book Publishers
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Seton Motley
Less Government
Kelly M. Kullberg
General Secretary
American Association of Evangelicals (AAE)
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
David Kullberg
Executive Director
Christians for A Sound Economy (CASE)
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Bishop E.W. Jackson, Sr.
Founder and President
STAND Foundation Inc.
Karen England
Capitol Resource Institute
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Andrew Roth
State Freedom Caucus Network
Thomas Pyle
American Energy Alliance
John Stemberger
Liberty Counsel Action
Kristen A. Ullman
Eagle Forum
Lee Beaman
Beaman Ventures
Shea Bradley-Farrell, PhD
Counterpoint Institute
Kimberly C. Good
President & CIO
KCG Investment
Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
Martin Capital, Inc.
Christina Murphy, Esq.
The Martin Foundation
Guillermo J. Aragon
Chief Strategy Officer
Martin Capital, Inc.
Lourdes Cosio
Campaign for the American Future
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
Chief Defense and Space Negotiator, President Ronald Reagan
SDI Director, President George H.W. Bush
Shannon O. Royce
Christian Employers Alliance
Tom DeWeese
American Policy Center
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Tim Throckmorton
Lifepointe Ministries
Nancy Schulze
National Strategic Advisor
Physicians for Reform
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State House
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan 1985-1988
Cooper & Kirk PLLC
The Honorable Ken Cuccinelli II
Sr. Fellow
Center for Renewing America
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Mr. E.C. Sykes
General Partner
Aslan Ventures
Mr. Richard D. Hayes
State Representative
State of Texas
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
RC Williams
Watchmen Action, Inc.
Chris Iacovella
President & CEO
American Securities Association

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.