Conservative Action Project

April 3, 2023
Washington, DC

Conservatives applaud Sen. Tommy Tuberville for standing against the Biden administration’s attempts to politicize the military by turning it into an abortion advocacy organization. We urge all conservative senators to stand with him.

Earlier this year, Secretary of Defense Lloyd Austin announced that the Department of Defense would blatantly violate federal law, which prevents taxpayer dollars from paying for on-demand abortions, by turning DOD into an abortion travel agency. Under DOD’s policy, the military will now promote abortion by giving three weeks of paid leave and travel expenses for members of the military and their family members who want to seek an abortion.

This action makes it official DOD policy to preference abortion over parenthood, and, according to a RAND study, will result in increase the number of taxpayer-funded abortions from 20 to more than 4,000 every year. This policy does not promote readiness, enhance recruitment, or prepare the military for emergent threats. Rather, it uses America’s fighting force to make a political statement about the president’s preferred social policy.

In response, Sen. Tuberville has objected to expedited consideration of promotions for general flag officers and DOD civilian nominees. If the DOD is going to use the men and women under its command as the tool of the president’s abortion politics, Sen. Tuberville has stated he would stand up for life, stand up for service members, and stand against this blatant politicization of the military using his prerogatives as a U.S. Senator.

We applaud Sen. Tuberville, and thank Sen. Mike Lee and Sen. J.D. Vance for supporting his effort. We urge the entire Senate Republican conference to join them. Objecting to expedited consideration of nominees inflicts consequences on DOD now, and has the greatest chance of forcing them to reconsider this policy.

Democratic Majority Leader Chuck Schumer and Senate Democrats have repeatedly attacked Sen. Tuberville, and the corporate press will no doubt follow. This is because he is doing the right thing. We thank him for his courage, and call on all senators who stand for life to join him.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
Thomas Fitton
President, Judicial Watch, Inc.
President, Council for National Policy
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List
The Honorable Russ Vought
Office of Management and Budget (2020-2021)
L. Brent Bozell III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
Kevin Roberts, Ph.D.
The Heritage Foundation
The Honorable Paul S. Teller, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Advancing American Freedom
Mike Berry
General Counsel and Director of External Affairs
First Liberty Institute
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting
Star Parker
President and CEO
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
Marty Dannenfelser
Vice President for Government Relations and Coalitions
Center for Urban Renewal and Education (CURE)
Thomas E. McClusky
Greenlight Strategies, LLC
Alfred S. Regnery
Republic Book Publishers
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Jenny Beth Martin
Myron Ebell David Bozell
Tom Jones
American Accountability Foundation
Brian Burch
Chad Connelly
Founder and President
Faith Wins
Terry Schilling
American Principles Project
William L. Walton
The Bill Walton Show
Resolute Protector Foundation
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
Bob Carlstrom
AMAC Action
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
President and CEO
First Liberty Institute
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
Lori Roman
ACRU Action Fund
Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America PAC
Wesley Denton
Chief Operating Officer
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Senior Legal Fellow
Conservative Partnership Institute
James C. Dobson, Ph.D.
Founder & Chairman
Dr. James Dobson Family Institute
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Cooper & Kirk PLLC
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State Representative
Alan Sears
Alliance Defending Freedom
Nancy Schulze
Founder & CEO
RCW Speakers
Seton Motley
Less Government
Tim Throckmorton
Lifepointe Ministries
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
E.C. Sykes
General Partner
Aslan Ventures
Richard Manning
American for Limited Government
Karen England
Capitol Resource Institute
Michelle Easton
Clare Boothe Luce Center for Conservative Women
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Ellen Grigsby
Strategic Relationships Director
Frontlines International
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Eunie Smith
President Emeritus
Eagle Forum
Tom DeWeese
American Policy Center
Frank Pavone
National Director
Priests for Life
Steven H. Aden
General Counsel
Americans United for Life
Richard Wright
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Founder and CEO
Corstet LLC and
William P. Mills, III
Council for National Policy
Gary Marx
The Concord Fund
Jon Schweppe
Policy Director
American Principles Project
Trent England
Executive Director
Save Our States
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Dr. Paige Patterson
Sandy Creek Foundation
Willes K. Lee LTC, USA (ret)
Immediate Past President
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Amb. Hank Cooper
Ronald Reagan’s Defense and Space Negotiator
Former SDI Director
Brian Rogers
Jesse Helms Center
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Kathleen Patten
President & CEO
American Target Advertising
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
The Honorable Richard Hayes
State Representative
State of Texas
Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America
Kristen A. Ullman
Eagle Forum
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Peggy Dau
Ralph A. Rebandt, II
Michigan Lighthouse Ministries
Rick Rounsavelle
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Sean Noble
American Encore
Walker Wildmon
AFA Action
Dr. Allen Unruh
National Abstinence Clearinghouse
Dr. Gregory Seltz
Executive Director
Lutheran Center for Religious Liberty
Kelly Monroe Kullberg
Senior Advisor
American Association of Evangelicals (AAE)
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Gerard Kassar
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.