Conservative Action Project

December 9, 2021
Washington, DC

Conservatives oppose the deal constructed by Senator Mitch McConnell and Senator Chuck Schumer to raise the debt ceiling. It is a needlessly complicated procedural maneuver designed to make it look like Republicans are opposed to raising the debt ceiling when they’re actually setting up a vote to enable it.

By supplying the votes for cloture on the underlying bill, Republicans will help Democrats set up a 51-vote, privileged process for raising the debt ceiling. While Democrats will be the ones who vote for the privileged resolution, Republicans will have helped make the vote possible.

These machinations are designed to do little more than layer procedure on procedure to avoid providing a clear accounting to the voters of where members stand on controversial issues. If Senate Republicans support raising the debt ceiling, they should just vote to do so instead of hiding behind procedural ruses.

Moreover, we are also opposed to creating a special, one-time 51 vote filibuster exemption for single policy issues, which is what is being done here. This type of process begins taking the Senate down the proverbial slippery slope toward eroding the legislative filibuster, in the same slow way that heralded the eventual death of the judicial filibuster.

Especially at time when Democrats have been demanding filibuster exemptions for “worthy” causes like their election meddling legislation, it is unconscionable for Republicans to give their arguments credibility by agreeing with the premise that the legislative filibuster can be subject to single issue carve outs.

It is exactly these type of processes – which engage in procedural trickery designed to avoid accountability and hide actions from voters – which make voters hate Washington. We oppose raising the debt ceiling, the proposed convoluted process intended to remove accountability from Senate Republicans, and the willingness of those Republicans to threaten the legislative filibuster.

We urge Senate Republicans to oppose the legislation which makes the debt ceiling resolution possible.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Chairman, Conservative Action Project (CAP)
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
The Honorable Russ Vought
Office of Management and Budget (2020-2021)
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
The Honorable Kenneth T. Cuccinelli, II
Election Transparency Initiative
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Paul S. Teller, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Advancing American Freedom
Alfred S. Regnery
Republic Book Publishers
Chad Connelly
Founder and President
Faith Wins
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
President and CEO
First Liberty Institute
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Terry Schilling
American Principles Project
Thomas E. McClusky
Greenlight Strategies, LLC
Tom Jones
American Accountability Foundation
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Noah Wall
Executive Vice President
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Rachel A. Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
William L. Walton
The Bill Walton Show
Resolute Protector Foundation
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
Lisa B. Nelson
ALEC Action
David Kullberg
Christians for A Sustainable Economy (CASE)
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Kelly M. Kullberg
Senior Advisor
American Association of Evangelicals (AAE)
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Rick Scarborough
Recover America
William Haygood Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Don Woodsmall
Arromid, LLC
Dr. Paige Patterson
Sandy Creek Foundation
James Renwick Manship
President and Chairman
W.I.S.E. – Washington Institute for Statesmanship Education
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
The Honorable Peter J Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Fran Lewis
Lewis Jewelers
Dr. Chris Hughes
Founder and Chairman
The Citizens for America Foundation
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Dr. Teryn Bree Clarke
Clarke Neurology
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State Representative
The Honorable Diana Denman
The Reagan Legacy Forum
Allen J. Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Seton Motley
Less Government
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Alan M. Gottlieb
Center for the Defense of Free Enterprise
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan’s Chief Defense and Space Negotiotor
Former SDI Director
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.
Signatures updated: 12/21/21