Conservative Action Project

June 20, 2019
Washington, DC

Conservatives applaud the leadership of Rep. Chip Roy (R-Texas) and other conservatives House members who followed Rep. Roy’s leadership and joined his efforts to demand accountability and transparency in the House of Representatives – and who insisted that the Members of the House of Representatives address the crisis on our nation’s southern border.

During efforts to consider spending bills that collectively total over a trillion dollars, Rep. Roy rejected business as usual, and required Members of the House to go on record with their positions by casting actual votes – instead of shirking their duties and going on recess to avoid dealing with the border crisis.

Rep. Roy stood up for accountability for two reasons. First, to require Members to cast real votes on trillions of dollars in new spending. And second, to expose the hypocrisy of Democrats who were blocking the Trump administration’s request for humanitarian funding at the border, in the midst of this crisis.

Rep. Roy and his brave colleagues were successful. Members of the House were required to do their jobs and vote on over 100 amendments – rather than escaping accountability by allowing the spending bills to be passed unanimously on voice votes…in an empty House Chamber.

Now, the Senate should do likewise.

And, as a result of the repeated attention these conservative House Members brought to the border crisis, congressional Democrats are now being forced to the negotiating table on this critical issue.

We applaud Rep. Chip Roy and these House conservatives for standing up for their – and our – principles—and drawing attention to the border crisis—even in the face of scorn and disdain from their colleagues who preferred to duck their obligations to the American people. We would hope that others in Congress will start to follow the example of these outstanding House members.

Accountability is never an inconvenience. Transparency should never be dismissed as unimportant. And, in the midst of national security and humanitarian crisis at the border, Congress should be addressing this issue immediately and constantly until it is solved.

That there is any movement in that direction is the direct result of the efforts of courageous House conservatives like Rep. Chip Roy.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Rachel Bovard
Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee (2014-2015)
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
David Bozell
Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting, Inc.
Diana Banister
President and Partner
Shirley & Banister Public Affairs
Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
Jessica Anderson
Vice President
Heritage Action for America
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Member, South Carolina
United States Senate (2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee (2003-2012)
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
President and CEO
First Liberty Institute
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Adam Brandon
The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Penny Y. Nance
President & CEO
Concerned Women for America
Lisa B. Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
American Legislative Exchange Council
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
The Honorable Tim Huelskamp, Ph.D.
Former Member (KS-1)
U.S. House of Representatives
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
E.C. Sykes
General Partner
Aslan Ventures
The Honorable Diana Denman
Reagan Presidential Appointee
The Reagan Legacy Forum
The Honorable Donald P. Hodel
Secreatry of Energy, Secretary of Interior
President Ronald Reagan
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Terry Schilling
Executive Director
American Principles Project
Sean Noble
American Encore
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Robert K Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
The Honorable Jake Hoffman
President & CEO
Rally Forge
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
The Honorable Penny Pullen
Life Advocacy Resource Project
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Brigitte Gabriel
Founder and Chairman
ACT for America
Rosemary Jenks
Director of Government Relations
Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC
Heather R. Higgins
Independent Women’s Voice
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Don Woodsmall
Perfect Man Truth Campaign
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
William Mills
Commercial Real Estate
Barry Meguiar
Revival Outside the Walls
Sandy Rios
Director of Governmental Affairs
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Trayce Bradford
Texas Eagle Forum
Nancy Schulze
Congressional Wives Speakers
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Andresen Blom
Hawaiian Values
Christopher Malagisi
Executive Director of Outreach
Hillsdale College
Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles
Nick Logan
Cornerstone Payment Systems
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Eunie Smith
Eagle Forum
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America
Seton Motley
Less Government
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Ralph A. Rebandt II
Lead Pastor
Oakland Hills Community Church
Ellen Grigsby
Director of Institutional Partnerships
Open Doors USA
Barbara S. Waddell
Let Us Pray Ministries
John C. Eastman
Senior Fellow, The Claremont Institute
Henry Salvatori Professor of Law & Community Service and Former Dean, Chapman University Fowler School of Law
The Honorable Belden Bell
Legacy Society Co-Chair
The Heritage Foundation
Dr. Tim Daughtry
Daughtry & Company
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Amy Kremer
Women for Trump
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
Peter Thomas
The Conservative Caucus

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.