Conservatives support President Trump’s nomination of Dr. Nancy Beck to be Chairman of the Consumer Product Safety Commission

December 3, 2020
Washington, DC

Conservatives support President Trump’s nomination of Dr. Nancy Beck to be the new chairman of the Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC) and urge all U.S. Senators to confirm her appointment. With a Bachelor of Science from Cornell University and a Ph.D. in Environmental Health from the University of Washington, Beck is a highly credentialed toxicologist who will bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the agency.

Given the fact that CPSC often addresses complicated scientific issues, many related to chemicals, Beck’s science background is particularly valuable. She also brings an impressive array of experience working in both academic and policy related positions. She has served as Toxicologist for the Washington State Department of Health, at the EPA as an American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow, and as an analyst in the Office of Management and Budget during both the George W. Bush and Barack Obama administrations. Before taking a Trump Administration post at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, Beck worked at the American Chemistry Council advocating science-based policies related to chemicals. Dr. Beck also recently served on the President’s National Economic Council, providing insights that span both science and economic policy, and is currently acting as a Senior Advisor at the Office of Management & Budget.

Former OIRA Administrator John Graham, Ph.D. expressed many reasons why senators should support Beck’s appointment in a communication to E&E Daily (see: E&E News, March 26, 2020). He explained:

Nancy Beck is one of the most qualified nominees to lead CPSC in the history of the agency…. In recent years, CPSC has taken on more issues that relate to consumer exposures to chemicals that are present in products.… With that in mind, he said, Nancy will be in a strong position to understand CPSC’s technical analyses.… I was very impressed with her credentials, her communications skills, her incisive mind, and so we hired her.… In the entire period I have known Nancy, I have never detected a partisan, commercially-oriented, or ideological thought in her mind.

Consumers would be well served with Nancy Beck at the helm of the CPSC. Therefore, we urge U.S. Senators to vote for her confirmation.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President, Republic Book Publishers
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Thomas Fitton
Judicial Watch, Inc.
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Wesley Denton
Chief Operating Officer
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable Terrence Scanlon
Chairman, 1985-89; Commissioner, ’83-85
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission
Rick Manning
Americans for Limited Government
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Dr. Angela Logomasini
Senior Fellow
Competitive Enterprise Institute
William H. Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Lewis K. Uhler
Founder and President
National Tax Limitation Committee
Ralph Benko
The Capitalist League
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Law Offices of Jack Park
Seton Motley
Less Government
Rod Vandenbos
B3 Holdings Inc.
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Martha Boneta
Vote America First
Kielle C. Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Eunie Smith
President Emeritus
Eagle Forum
Allen Hébert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Charlie Gerow
Quantum Communications
Rob Gluskin
Managing Partner
Gluskin Investment Partners
Lee Beaman
Beaman Ventures
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Richard D. Hayes
Hayes, Berry, White & Vanzant, LLP
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State House
Barry Meguiar
Ignite America
Ron Pearson
Executive Director
Conservative Victory Fund
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Sal Russo
Co-Founder and Chief Strategist
Tea Party Express
Gerard Kassar
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party
Robert Keith Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Paul Gessing
Rio Grande Foundation
Benjamin R. Case
Private Citizen
Private Citizen
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.