Conservative Leaders to Mitch McConnell: No Short-Term CR

The Honorable Mitch McConnell
Majority Leader
United States Senate
317 Russell Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leader McConnell,

The undersigned conservatives urge you to modify the Continuing Resolution recently passed by the House of Representatives to extend government funding for a full year.

As we outlined in the attached letter, signed by over 100 conservative leaders, a CR into December gives leverage to Democrat demands on key issues, including significant pro-life policies, border spending, and other key areas. This is reflected in the partisan vote in which the CR passed the House, with 219 Democrats voting in favor, joined by only 12 Republicans.

From both a strategic and fiscal perspective, we believe a CR into December would be an error.

For both these reasons and those outlined in the attached letter, we urge the Senate to modify the timeline of the current CR to allow for full deliberation and debate of critical spending issues in 2020.


Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Tom McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Kelly J. Shackelford, Esq.
Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
President and CEO, First Liberty Institute
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
Christopher Malagisi
Executive Director of Outreach
Hillsdale College
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Scott T. Parkinson
Executive Director
Republican Study Committee (2016-2018)
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute
Rachel Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
Adam Brandon
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
Ginni Thomas
Liberty Consulting, Inc.
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)