Congress & President Trump Must Protect 2nd Amendment Rights

August 19, 2019
Washington, DC
Signatures updated 8/22/19

Conservatives oppose any attempt to limit the 2nd Amendment rights of Americans through the use of unconstitutional universal background checks, assault weapons bans, gun registries, or red flag laws.

As citizens of this great nation, we vehemently condemn the actions of mass shooters, and the ideologies of hatred that have motivated many of them.

We are also fully committed to the Constitutional rights of all citizens, which includes the right to self-defense enshrined in the 2nd Amendment. We will not solve the problem of mass shooters by disarming law-abiding Americans from defending themselves in case of an attack.

There is scant evidence that more restrictive background checks and gun ownership will stop future criminals from securing weapons to carry out their heinous crimes. The Dayton and El Paso shooters, for example, both purchased their firearms legally. The mass shooter in Charleston in 2015 was not stopped from purchasing a gun because of communications failures by bureaucracies during the background check process.

Rather, a more complex legal system will serve to curtail the constitutional rights of law abiding Americans and limit their ability to defend themselves, while doing little to stop those motivated to do harm.

Red flag laws, in particular, present troubling concerns about the due process right of Americans, and have even limited access of veterans to firearms, simply because they chose to seek help for counseling for trauma sustained in combat.

It is likely that multiple factors—not just the presence of firearms—that trigger these mass tragedies. Social factors such as alienation, an over-reliance on drugs and pharmaceuticals, persistent unemployment, dysfunctional families, cultural acceptance of violence, and mental illness all contribute.

The right to bear arms is a fundamental right of all Americans. The proper response to these tragedies must not be one that limits the 2nd Amendment rights of citizens to arm and defend themselves.

Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Noah Wall
Vice President of Advocacy
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
William L. Walton
Council for National Policy
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Foley & Lardner LLP
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Executive Director, Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
Adam Brandon
Rachel Bovard
Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee (2014-2015)
Thomas Fitton
Judicial Watch, Inc.
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
David Bozell
Erich Pratt
Senior Vice President
Gun Owners of America
Terry Schilling
Executive Director
American Principles Project
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Jake Hoffman
President & CEO
Rally Forge
Michelle Easton
Clare Boothe Luce Center for Conservative Women
Dr. Everett Piper
Bestselling Author: Not A Day Care, Washington Times Columnist
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Budget Director for President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
US House of Representatives
The Honorable Diana Denman
Presidential Appointee
President Ronald Reagan (1982-1988)
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Kathleen Patten
President & CEO
American Target Advertising
John F. Tate
America’s Liberty PAC
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Charlie Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
Susan A. Carleson
American Civil Rights Union
Floyd Brown
America Fighting Back PAC
Benjamin R. Case
Focused On Fundraising
Rob Chambers
Vice President
AFA Action
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
Amy Kremer
Women for America First
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Richard Norman
Founder and President
The Richard Norman Company
Lisa Calvert
Christian Speaker
Rabon-Calvert Int.
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Seton Motley
Less Government
Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles
Rebekah Gantner
Executive Director
Eagle Forum Education & Legal Defense Fund
Craig Shirley
Reagan Biographer and Presidential Historian
Jim Backlin
Vice President of Legislative Affairs
Christian Coalition of America
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Rebecca Hagelin
The Washington Times
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper &Kirk, PLLC
William W. Pascoe, III
Board Member
Tea Party Patriots Action
Jon Schweppe
Director of Policy and Government Affairs
American Principles Project
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Jenna Ellis Rives
Constitutional Law Attorney
Trump 2020 Advisory Board
Rick Manning
Americans for Limited Government
Sean Noble
American Encore
Amapola Hansberger
Legal Immigrants for America
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Mark Fitzgibbons
President of Corporate Affairs
American Target Advertising, Inc.
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
Robert Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Matthew Tyrmand
Matthew Tyrmand LLC
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Rod D. Martin
Founder & CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Nicholas Stehle
Campaign for the American Future
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives
Norm Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Mat Staver
Founder and Chairman
Liberty Counsel
Lewis K. Uhler
Founder and President
National Tax Limitation Committee
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
Eunie Smith
Eagle Forum
Martha Boneta
Vote America First
The Honorable Mike Hill
Florida State House
Melissa Ortiz

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.