Conservatives Oppose Opening Up the Electoral Count Act to Democratic Election Takeover Legislation

February 11, 2022
Washington, DC

Conservatives oppose current efforts in Congress to reform the Electoral Count Act.

With Democrats in charge, such efforts are merely cover for liberals to have more opportunities to pass their election takeover legislation. These efforts have been successfully defeated so far, but Republicans who engage in negotiations to open up the Electoral Count Act are willfully giving Democrats another avenue to shepherd in their election federalization priorities.

The goal of the latest leftist scheme to change the presidential election rules is to make it harder for Congress to do anything about election fraud in a presidential election. Leftist politicians have committed themselves to opposing all election security measures, including voter ID, while pushing ballot harvesting and uncontrolled vote by mail schemes that undermine the very idea of secure elections.

Moreover, there is no need for these conversations to be taking place now, more than two years before the issue is pertinent again. Further, if there are to be changes to this important constitutional function, such changes should be developed and considered in regular order, during a normal legislative process – not behind closed doors by ad hoc groups of senators, apart from the Senate as a whole.

There are major issues that need serious legislative attention from Republicans: mounting inflation, possible U.S. military action in Ukraine, the tyrannies inflicted on personal freedoms in the name of COVID protocols, Big Tech’s speech suppression, vaccine mandates, and so on.

Engaging with Democrats on this issue is a pointless exercise which will only allow them to further their agenda of completely federalizing elections in America and instituting practices which will render future faith in elections untenable.

We urge Republicans to abandon these efforts and focus on far more timely issues that demand their attention.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Chairman, Conservative Action Project (CAP)
Chairman, Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Myron Ebell
Director, Center for Energy and Environment
Competitive Enterprise Institute
Thomas E. McClusky
Greenlight Strategies, LLC
Terry Schilling
American Principles Project
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1987-1988)
The Honorable Jim DeMint
Chairman, Conservative Partnership Institute
Member, US Senate (SC 2005-2013)
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
President & CEO, Conservative Partnership Institute
Chad Connelly
Founder and President
Faith Wins
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
Rachel A. Bovard
Senior Director of Policy
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan (1981-1985)
The Honorable Morton C. Blackwell
The Leadership Institute
Cleta Mitchell, Esq.
Senior Legal Fellow
Conservative Partnership Institute
The Honorable Paul S. Teller, Ph.D.
Executive Director
Advancing American Freedom
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Lori Roman
ACRU Action Fund
The Honorable Mary Vought
Executive Director
Senate Conservatives Fund
Alfred S. Regnery
Republic Book Publishers
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
The Honorable Donald Paul Hodel
U.S. Secretary of Energy (1982-1985)
U.S. Secretary of Interior (1985-1989)
L. Brent Bozell III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
The Honorable Tony Perkins
Family Research Council
William L. Walton
The Bill Walton Show
Resolute Protector Foundation
Wesley Denton
Chief Operating Officer
Conservative Partnership Institute (CPI)
David Bozell
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Scott T. Parkinson
VP for Government Affairs
Club for Growth
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
The Honorable Matt Schlapp
American Conservative Union (ACU)
Craig Shirley
Reagan Biographer
Presidential Historian
Rod D. Martin
Founder & CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Guillermo J. Aragon
Chief Strategy Officer
Martin Capital
Christina Murphy Lusk
The Martin Foundation
Lourdes Cosio
Campaign for the American Future
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Carey Woodruff
Executive Vice President
Foundation for American Christian Education
Tim Throckmorton
Lifepointe Ministry
Robert Chambers
Executive Vice President
AFA Action
Seton Motley
Less Government
Brian Rogers
The Jesse Helms Center
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Law Offices of Jack Park
The Honorable George K. Rasley Jr.
Managing Editor
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
Melissa Ortiz
Principal & Founder; Keynote Speaker
Able Americans
Martha Boneta
Vote America First
G. Eric Georgatos
Executive Producer
America Can We Talk?
The Honorable Scott Walker
Young America’s Foundation
Richard Rounsavelle
Amy Kremer
Women for America First
Mario Navarro da Costa
Director, Washington Bureau
Tradition, Family, Property
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State Representative
Augusta Petrone
Former Iowa Co-Chair
Reagan-Bush ’84
Kylie Jane Kremer
Executive Director
Women For America First
Tim Macy
Gun Owners of America
Marc T. Little
Executive Director
CURE America Action
Debbie Georgatos
Host, America Can We Talk
CWT Publications, LLC
The Honorable Peter J. Thomas
Conservative Caucus
Kielle C. Horton
The Lindsey Foundation
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Lee Beaman
Beaman Ventures
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Allen J. Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Gerard Kassar
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party
Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch (1999-2016)
Richard G. Scurry
VP New Products, Inc
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Don Woodsmall
President (Interim)
Center for Security Policy
Paavo Ensio
Universal Minerals Group
Christian Adams
Public Interest Legal Foundation
Joan Holt Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Peggy Dau
Christian Activist
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Ralph A. Rebandt, II
Gubernatorial Candidate
Ralph Rebandt for Michigan Governor
Tom DeWeese
American Policy Center
William W. Pascoe, III
Our Man in Washington
Tea Party Patriots Action
Dr. Jerry A. Johnson
President (2013-2019)
National Religious Broadcasters
Melvin Adams
Noah Webster Educational Foundation
Dr. Paige Patterson
Sandy Creek Foundation
Eleanor Nicholas

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.