No Taxes for Hush Money

January 18, 2018
Signatures updated 1/19/18
Washington, D.C.

The recent revelation of a Congressional “hush fund” that paid settlements to victims of sexual harassment by Members of Congress and their staffs is shocking, offensive and profoundly wrong.

At least nine public polls taken in November and December confirm that the American public is revulsed, not only by the acts of harassment themselves, but also by the practice of buying the victims’ silence with settlements paid for with taxpayers’ money and hidden from the public through non-disclosure agreements. Conservatives must seize the moral high ground on this issue. It is not enough merely to demand the resignations of offenders. We must lead the effort to condemn the offenses unambiguously and support structural changes in the way Congress deals with these situations so that the public trust in our legislators can be restored.

One effort to ensure that Congress addresses this issue effectively is H.R. 4494, the Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act, introduced by Rep. Ron DeSantis (R-FL). It has already garnered nearly 100 cosponsors (74 Republicans and 25 Democrats). The conservative movement should conduct a grassroots campaign among our organizations’ supporters to put pressure on their Members of Congress to take an active role in ensuring that the problem and the legislation that seeks to address it are given prompt consideration and passage.

Congress will act when constituents demand it, even if the inappropriate behavior of some Congressional allies is exposed as a consequence. No one knows how many settlements are involved, but any honest observer knows intuitively that secrecy is no solution to scandal. Strong, committed leadership is required, and if the conservative movement does not provide that leadership, we will be looked upon as part of the problem rather than as part of the solution and it will undermine our moral authority as a movement.

We, the undersigned leaders of conservative organizations have pledged to encourage our supporters and members to contact their Member of Congress and urge prompt and serious action. Toward that end, a website has been established that will facilitate communication with Congress. The address is The site has a tool to identify the constituent’s Member of Congress based upon their home address. A suggested letter with editable text will allow constituents to write directly to their Member’s own webform, the means of communication that most Members prefer.

There is no cost to use the website, and if your group chooses to take part, your logo will be shown on the website along with the other groups who have chosen likewise.

Thank you for your consideration.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Former White House Advisor, President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Alfred S. Regnery
Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
David Bozell
Diana Banister
President and Partner
Shirley & Banister Public Affairs
Adam Brandon
Lisa B. Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
American Legislative Exchange Council
Ed Corrigan
Former Executive Director
Senate Steering Committee
Rachel Bovard
Former Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Thomas E. McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq. The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List
Rebecca Hagelin
Secretary, Council for National Policy
Board of Directors, FamilyTalk
Penny Young Nance
CEO & President
Concerned Women for America
Larry Beasley
President and CEO
The Washington Times
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Director, Office of Management & Budget
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable Kenneth Cuccinelli
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Gary Bauer
American Values
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Former Assistant Attorney General, Ronald Reagan Administration
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
Randall S. Page
Chief of Staff
Bob Jones University
Bob Adams
Revive America PAC
The Honorable Timothy Echols
PSC Commissioner
State of Georgia
Dean B. Nelson
Frederick Douglass Foundation
David Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Washington Bureau Chief
Kevin D. Freeman
NSIC Institute
James N. Clymer
Former National Chairman, Constitution Party
Conservative Legal Defense and Education Fund
Joseph A. Morris
Morris & De La Rosa
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Peggy Dau
Special Liasion Representative
Voice of the Martyrs
Dr. Ted Baehr
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Ralph Schmidt
Schmidt Land and Cattle Co
Patrick A. Trueman
President & CEO
National Center on Sexual Exploitation
Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Charlie Gerow
Quantum Communications
Kathleeen Patten
President and CEO
American Target Advertising
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
The Honorable Mica Mosbacher
Mosbacher Interests LLC
Lee A. Beaman
CEO & Owner
Beaman Automotive Group
Rod Vandenbos
Ann Drexel
Member, Board of Governors
Council for National Policy
Norman Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Joe Calvert
Ramon-Calvert Interests
Melvin Adams
Past President
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Lou Cordia
President, Cordia & Associates, and
Executive Director, President Reagan’s Alumni Association
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
James L. Martin
Founder & Chairman
60 Plus Association
Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch
Maggie Briones
Good News Communication
Ali Alexander
First Freedoms
Ali Akbar
Senior Advisor
Black Conservatives Fund
Sean Noble
American Encore
Heather R. Higgins
President and CEO
Independent Women’s Voice
The Honorable Belden Bell
Co-Chair Legacy Society
The Heritage Foundation
Penna Dexter
Point of View Radio
Andrea Lafferty
Traditional Values Coalition
Lew Uhler
William Shaker
Washington Marketing Group
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Francis X. DeLuca
Civitas Institute
William Mills
Mills Energy
Gerrye Johnston
Men and Women for a Representative Democracy in America
Ralph A. Rebandt, II
Senior Pastor / Chaplain
Oakland Hills Community Church/Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.