Next Steps After The Iran Nuclear Deal

May 16, 2018
Washington, DC

President Trump deserves extensive praise for his decision, announced publicly on May 8th, to withdraw the United States from the 2015 nuclear deal with Iran, formally known as the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action, or JCPOA. That agreement was concluded by the Obama administration against the wishes of the majority of the American people, and tied the United States to a deeply deficient and dangerous arms control agreement with the world’s leading state sponsor of terrorism.

Under the terms of the JCPOA, Iran’s regime received massive strategic and economic benefits – including $1.7 billion of American taxpayer dollars provided directly to Tehran in cash by the Obama White House – in exchange for only temporary constraints on the Iranian regime’s nuclear development. Yet, as Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu recently detailed, Iran’s radical regime has failed to abide by even those restrictions. As such, the President’s decision to withdraw the country from the deal was both prudent and necessary.

The Administration has already taken a number of steps to formulate a new, more comprehensive approach toward Iran. In tandem with its withdrawal from the JCPOA, the White House has re-imposed an extensive array of economic penalties on the Iranian regime – including measures that target the country’s energy sector and prohibit foreign transactions with the Central Bank of Iran. These steps have the power to significantly impact Iran’s already fragile economy and empower the ongoing protests now underway against the country’s repressive regime. So, too, can the enhancements now being made to the content and structure of U.S. public diplomacy toward Iran by agencies such as the U.S. Broadcasting Board of Governors. But more must be done in order for the Trump administration to comprehensively address the contemporary challenge posed by Iran.

Today, the threat posed by the Islamic Republic is greater and more complex than ever before, thanks in large part to President Obama’s disastrous nuclear deal. The Trump administration has correctly reversed that terrible diplomatic blunder. Further, many legal scholars have stated that Obama violated the Constitution in having the JCPOA evade the requirement of ratification by the Senate. It now needs a new strategy for the day after the JCPOA – one that truly addresses the threat Iran poses to American interests and U.S. allies.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan
Alfred S. Regnery
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Chairman, Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
Herman Pirchner, Jr.
Founding President
American Foreign Policy Council (AFPC)
Lt. Gen. William G. Boykin (Ret.)
Executive Vice President
Family Research Council
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy
Wesley Denton
Former Communications Director
Senator Jim DeMint (SC)
The Honorable Bob McEwen
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Ohio
The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Former, U. S. Ambassador
United Nations Human Rights Commission
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
Former White House Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq. Tim Chapman
Chief Operating Officer
Heritage Action
Ed Corrigan
Vice Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Former Executive Director, Senate Steering Committee
Rachel Bovard
Former Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable David McIntosh
U.S. House of Representatives
Former Member, Indiana
L. Brent Bozell, III
Founder and President
Media Research Center
Rebecca Hagelin
Council for National Policy
Rod D. Martin
Founder and CEO
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Sherri R. Martin
Executive Vice President
The Martin Organization, Inc.
Haley E. Martin
The Martin Foundation
Shawn A. Mitchell
Former National Chaplain
National Federation of Republican Assemblies (NFRA)
Jerry Melvin
Former Dean
Florida House of Representatives
Nicholas Silvera
Campaign for the American Future
Evelio Silvera
Campaign for the American Future
Mitchell Morgan
Chief Financial Officer
Martin Imaging
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Former Assistant Attorney General, President Ronald Reagan
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
William Mills
MPW properties
Dr. Theodore Baehr
Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch
Donna Hearne
The Constitutional Coalition
Christopher Malagisi
Editor in Chief
Conservative Book Club
Saulius “Saul” Anuzis
60 Plus Association
Caroline Lewis
Percipio Communications
James L. Martin
60 Plus Association
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
Bob Adams
Revive America PAC
The Honorable Mike Hill
Former Member
Florida State Representative
Elaine Donnelly
Center for Military Readiness
Bob Carlstrom
The Carlstrom Group, LLC
Charles Copeland
Intercollegiate Studies Institute
Lee Beaman
Beaman Automotive Group
Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Kay R. Daly
Coalition for a Fair Judiciary
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
The Honorable Gary L. Bauer
American Values
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
The Honorable Michael R. Long
State Chairman
NYS Conservative Party
Gary Marx
Madison Strategies
Jeremy Cerone
EliteSafe Inc.
Ralph A. Rebandt II
Pastor / Chaplain
Oakland Hills Community Church / Michigan Police Chiefs
Joseph A. Morris
Morris & De La Rosa
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
The Honorable Belden Bell
Legacy Society co-chair
The Heritage Foundation
The Honorable Tom DeLay
Former Majority Leader
U.S. House of Representatives
Joan Lindsey
Lindsey Communications
Jason S. Jones
Movie to Movement
Kevin Freeman
NSIC Institute
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Dr. Richard Rounsavelle
Media Research Center
Ambassador Henry F. Cooper
President Reagan’s Chief Defense & Space Negotiator
Former SDI Director
Barry J. Meguiar
Revival Outside the Walls
The Honorable Terrence Scanlon
Retired Chairman and President
Capital Research Center
Ron Pearson
Council for America
Joe Calvert
Rabon and Calvert Interests, Inc
The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California
Ed Martin
Phyllis Schlafly Eagles
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
Jack Park
Conservative Activist and Donor
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
William W. Pascoe, III
Managing Partner
Antietam Communications

All organizations listed for IDENTIFICATION purposes only.