House Leadership, Pass H.R. 4494, the Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act

The Honorable Paul Ryan
Speaker, U.S House of Representatives
1233 Longworth House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy
Majority Leader, U.S House of Representatives
2421 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Ryan and Majority Leader McCarthy,

The recent revelation of a Congressional “hush fund” that paid settlements to victims of sexual harassment by Members of Congress and their staffs is shocking, offensive and entirely unacceptable. At least nine public polls taken in November and December confirm that the American public is revulsed, not only by the acts of harassment themselves, but also by the practice of buying the victims’ silence by settlements paid for with taxpayers’ money and hidden from the public through non-disclosure agreements. Clearly, this practice must stop.

One effort to ensure that Congress addresses this issue effectively is H.R. 4494, the Congressional Accountability and Hush Fund Elimination Act, introduced by Rep. Ron DeSantis. It has already garnered nearly 100 cosponsors (74 Republicans and 25 Democrats). We urge you to take an active role in ensuring that it is given prompt attention and passage.

We understand that there may be other legislative proposals addressing the same concerns that will soon be introduced. Our purpose here is not to suggest that any one bill is the perfect solution, but rather to urge that deliberation by the Committee on House Administration be initiated promptly. Your encouragement as the top leaders in the House would ensure that this issue is given the kind of serious attention.

Thank you for your consideration.

The Honorable Edwin Meese III
Former Attorney General
President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Becky Norton Dunlop
Chairman, Conservative Action Project
Former White House Advisor, President Ronald Reagan
The Honorable Colin A. Hanna
Let Freedom Ring, Inc.
The Honorable David McIntosh
Club for Growth
Alfred S. Regnery
Law Enforcement Legal Defense Fund
David Bozell
Diana Banister
President and Partner
Shirley & Banister Public Affairs
Adam Brandon
Lisa B. Nelson
Chief Executive Officer
American Legislative Exchange Council
Ed Corrigan
Former Executive Director
Senate Steering Committee
Rachel Bovard
Former Policy Director
Senate Steering Committee
The Honorable T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr.
Former Chief Domestic Advisor
President Ronald Reagan
Jenny Beth Martin
Tea Party Patriots Citizen Fund
Thomas E. McClusky
March for Life Action
The Honorable Tony Perkins
President, Family Research Council
President, Council for National Policy
William L. Walton
CNP Action, Inc.
Cleta Mitchell, Esq. The Honorable J. Kenneth Blackwell
Constitutional Congress, Inc.
Marjorie Dannenfelser
Susan B. Anthony List
Rebecca Hagelin
Secretary, Council for National Policy
Board of Directors, FamilyTalk
Penny Young Nance
CEO & President
Concerned Women for America
Larry Beasley
President and CEO
The Washington Times
David N. Bossie
Citizens United
The Honorable Mike Spence
Founding President
Conservative Republicans of California
Floyd Brown
Western Center for Journalism
Roxanne Phillips
Member, Executive Committee
Council for National Policy
Anne Schlafly Cori
Eagle Forum
The Honorable James C. Miller III
Director, Office of Management & Budget
President Ronald Reagan (1985-1988)
The Honorable Kenneth Cuccinelli
Senate Conservatives Fund
The Honorable Gary Bauer
American Values
The Honorable Charles J. Cooper
Former Assistant Attorney General, Ronald Reagan Administration
Cooper & Kirk, PLLC
Randall S. Page
Chief of Staff
Bob Jones University
Bob Adams
Revive America PAC
The Honorable Timothy Echols
PSC Commissioner
State of Georgia
Dean B Nelson
Frederick Douglass Foundation
David Williams
Taxpayers Protection Alliance
Dr. Jerome R. Corsi, Ph.D.
Washington Bureau Chief
Kevin D. Freeman
NSIC Institute
James N. Clymer
Former National Chairman, Constitution Party
Conservative Legal Defense and Education Fund
Joseph A. Morris
Morris & De La Rosa
Robert K. Fischer
Meeting Coordinator
Conservatives of Faith
Allen Hebert
American-Chinese Fellowship of Houston
Peggy Dau
Special Liasion Representative
Voice of the Martyrs
Dr. Ted Baehr
C. Preston Noell III
Tradition, Family, Property, Inc.
Ralph Schmidt
Schmidt Land and Cattle Co
Patrick A. Trueman
President & CEO
National Center on Sexual Exploitation
Peter J. Thomas
The Conservative Caucus
Charlie Gerow
Quantum Communications
Kathleeen Patten
President and CEO
American Target Advertising
Willes K. Lee
National Federation of Republican Assemblies
The Honorable Mica Mosbacher
Mosbacher Interests LLC
Lee A. Beaman
CEO & Owner
Beaman Automotive Group
Rod Vandenbos
Ann Drexel
Member, Board of Governors
Council for National Policy
Norman Singleton
Campaign for Liberty
Joe Calvert
Ramon-Calvert Interests
Melvin Adams
Past President
Judson Phillips
Tea Party Nation
Lou Cordia
President, Cordia & Associates, and
Executive Director, President Reagan’s Alumni Association
Ron Robinson
Young America’s Foundation
James L. Martin
Founder & Chairman
60 Plus Association
Robert D. Thompson
Former Administrator
The Weyrich Lunch